News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Cardiology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Cardiology Answers List

Forum Name: Arrhythmias

Question: Palpitations during exercise

KDCwv32 - Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:32 pm

Hi, I'm a 21 year old female in pretty good shape and lately the past 5 months Ive been having palpitations. I have never had them before so this is scary to me. I am a student so when i first started having them i went to the University hospital where they only did a resting EKG on me which was normal and the doctor said not to worry about it. I first starting noticing going up stairs. Now I only have them during exercise and its freaking me out! Sometimes it feels like my breath gets taken away for a split second and other times i just feel a skipped beat in my chest. The very first one I had, which was goin up steps, made me light headed but that was the only time. I don't drink caffine or any other stimulants. I drink alcohol but not very often maybe two weekends out of the month. My family has no history of heart problems once so ever. I have chronic costochondritis for about a year now and occasionaly protein shows up in my urine... i don't know if that has any link to it but just to let you know. I feel very nervous now when i start to run because of these skipped heart beats, so i usually try to avoid it but i love to run! Should I be worried? Do you recommend gettin more tests done?
 Dr. Chan Lowe - Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:48 pm