News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Fertility Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Fertility Answers List

Forum Name: Fertility

Question: Can Sperm Travel Through Fabric?

Questioning21 - Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:47 pm

Hi! I'm a 19-year-old college student who, I've heard, comes from a VERY fertile family. Is it possible for sperm to travel through the thin fabric from my boyfriend's boxers, through the thin fabric from my underwear, into my vagina and get me pregnant? I'll have to add that I have my own female ejaculate at that point.... We've been very careful, but I'm always worried if he gets my underwear a little wet. It is usually up by the clitoris that gets wet, but just in case it is down more towards the entrance of the vagina, is it possible to get pregnant under these conditions? What if it is only one layer of clothing? What about no layers? Please let me know so I can be as safe as possible. I truly do not want to get pregnant at this point in my life. Thank you!
 Debbie Miller, RN - Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:29 pm

User avatar Hello,
Fabric would make it extremely difficult for sperm to get where it needs to go to impregnate you. Of course a latex condom would be the best protection and if you are going to be sexually active this would be a good measure for the future. Even with full penetration pregnancy does not always occur but without penetration the chances are very slim that the sperm could travel that far.

Best wishes
 Dreads1993 - Mon May 11, 2009 6:10 am