News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Gynecology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Gynecology Answers List

Forum Name: Gynecology

Question: menstrual cycle twice in one month?

Cally22 - Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:10 am

I am an 18 year old female who has not had problems with her menses until now. I had my period around the first of this month. I then had a 2 week break with no abnormal occurence. Then on Monday the 20th I started bleeding again. Now I am not a doctor, but that does not sound normal. What could it be? I am not sexually active, I can't figure this one out?? I have never seen a gyno, so I am not sure as to what I should do??? What is going on here!!

Cally22
 drnasser - Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:35 am

Thanks for visiting the doctors lounge Cally

Well this normally happens which happens to be, for some girls, it will be every 28 days; for others. it may be anywhere from 23 to 35 days and for others it might be changing from a month to another, and it might be 14 to 20 days which is in your case

If you are facing heavy bleeding then this might be abnormal the cause might be Hormone imbalance, Infection of the uterus, Tumors of the uterus, and Miscarriage.

And the reason of your Menstrual Changes might be heavy exercise people who run 20-40 miles mostly don't get their period early because it changes in the amount of body hormones.

For any further information don't hesitate to contact us in the forum

Dr. Nasser

Obstetrics & Gynecology
 RMarHa - Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:04 pm

Dr Nasser,
I am 31 years old and I had sex about 3 weeks ago. I had my cycle 5 days later. Yesterday I started bleeding again. Should I see my doctor? Is this normal?

Please advise.

Thanks,
RMH
 Debbie Miller, RN - Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:45 pm

User avatar Hello,