News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Nephrology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Nephrology Answers List

Forum Name: Nephrology Symptoms

Question: creatinine levels in drug testing

senyax - Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:15 pm

I am an attorney with a client who is required to drug test randomly. She has tested over 40 times, roughly once every four or five days, and has had no "positives" for any amphetamines, alcohol, THC, cocaine, opiates, barbiturates, or benzodiazepines. She has been on methadone, and, at various times, taking various anti-depressants and medications for her mental illness. (She is said to be bi-polar.) Her drug tests show creatinine levels which fluctuate wildly --- from 40.6 mg/dL to 210.6 mg/dL, and on one occasion she had a creatinine level of 19.7 mg/dL, which the lab characterized as a "dilute specimen." All the stuff I've read on line about creatinine tests measure "normal" levels as, for example, 1.2 or 2.5mg/dL. So why are her levels measured differently? Is there any reason for a drug test to test creatinine other than to try to identify urine specimens that have been diluted? Wouldn't one specimen testing at 19.7 mg/dL, in the midst of all these wildly fluctuating levels, be unlikely to be an attempt by her to dilute her specimen? What would cause such a wild fluctuation in creatinine?
 John Kenyon, CNA - Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:19 pm

User avatar Hello -