News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Oncology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Oncology Answers List

Forum Name: Miscellaneous Cancer Topics

Question: Spitting blood, dizziness, pains in chest and back

bedders - Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:22 pm

I have been spitting blood now for about 3 months. I constantly taste blood in my mouth and when I spit out I get pure blood (about 12 spits). This happens every time I spit and seems to getting worse.

I also get pains across my chest and back in the same way you do when you have infection, and also get terrible head pressure and dizziness, sometimes leading to nosebleeds.

I have been to A&E on two occasions, had a sinus CT scan, 3 chest x-rays and an endoscopy (to see if the blood is coming from my stomach). Nothing has been found. I am waiting a neurology appt. re the dizziness.

The whole thing feels head and lung related but the docs keep telling me my chest is normal.

Anyone get any advice pls - I'm going out my mind with worry.
 Dr. Tamer Fouad - Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:35 am

User avatar Hello,

Please specify your age, sex and medical history as indicated in the forum rules.

The first step is to establish that your complaint is indeed hemoptysis. This is defined as coughing blood or spitting blood that originates in the lung or bronchial tubes. This can usually be established both clinically and by way of a sputum analysis. In some cases it may be less obvious and may require endoscopy to rule out GIT origin.