News  |  Journals  |  Conferences  |  Blogs  |  Articles  |  Forums  |  Twitter   

Headlines:

Doctors Lounge - Oncology Answers

"The information provided on www.doctorslounge.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her physician."

Back to Oncology Answers List

Forum Name: Lymphoma

Question: Lymphadenopathy or normal size?

Medstud - Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:12 pm

Hi all,

I am a 19 years old student (male), non-smoker and non-drinker.
no history of lymphoma in my family, leukemia in one extended member and breast cancer in another. That's about it.

Being the worried 1at year medical student that I am, I choose to study structures on myself etc. I recently ( april 13th came down with a viral infection that was thought to be some sort of allergies since my phlegm was clear. I noticed that I have palpable lymph nodes on both sides of my neck, on my left side I have a string of lymph nodes running down ( size 3-4mm, and mobile and soft). On the right side I have 2 lymph nodes also posterior cervical family, and one jugular lymph node at the base of my neck. ( all of them are <1 cm , soft and mobile). Then i developed a 2nd viral infection ( doctor thought it was viral I still think it was bacterial, nonetheless..it was stronger, sore throat and dry cough at night, with dark yellow phlegm ) that one cleared up, and I decided to probe my supracalvicular nodes (BIG MISTAKE!!) initially if i am performing a normal physical they are not palpable, however when i strain my neck hard enough and move all my muscles above the clavicle ( and take the most awkward position possible) I can feel one on the left side <1 cm softer than all my other nodes combined and extremely mobile ( which is why I questioned if it was indeed a supraclavicular node, might be a lipoma or cyst due to my bag strap)